Listen To The New Track 'Dark Necessities ' From Red Hot Chillipeppers

Listen To The New Track ‘Dark Necessities ‘ From Red Hot Chillipeppers

The new album THE GETAWAY, coming June 17th



The Getaway is the upcoming eleventh studio album by American rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers, slated to be released through Warner Bros. on June 17, 2016.[2] This will be the band’s first studio album since 2011’s I’m with You and was produced by Danger Mouse, who replaces Rick Rubin after twenty-five years and six albums as the band’s producer, making it the first non-Rubin produced album since 1989’s Mother’s Milk. The album was preceded by the first single “Dark Necessities” on May 5, 2016


Production on the album began in 2014 however was delayed for eight months due to bassist Flea suffering a broken arm from snowboarding. Anthony Kiedis said “We had an unusually difficult experience making this record where we wrote 20-30 songs and it was all ready to go and we thought it was happening, and then Flea went snowboarding and broke his arm real bad, which was a bit of a setback… . So we re-thought everything and then we didn’t have a producer and we were just sort of lost in space with all these songs. And lo and behold it was meant to be, as these things can be, and when all the dust settled Brian Burton, aka Danger Mouse, emerged and said, “Let’s go make a record.’ We were like ‘Great, we have all these songs’ and he was like ‘Leave those there, let’s go write new songs in the studio. Initially there was an affinity and a marriage to all these other songs, but the only way that we saw this working was to have trust in him and get rid of our old ideas and our old way of doing things and say ‘If this is going to work, we just have to throw ourselves off the cliff and see what happens.”


Track listing

No. Title Length
1. “The Getaway”
2. Dark Necessities 5:02
3. “We Turn Red”
4. “The Longest Wave”
5. “Goodbye Angels”
6. “Sick Love”
7. “Go Robot”
8. “Feasting on the Flowers”
9. “Detroit”
10. “This Ticonderoga”
11. “Encore”
12. “The Hunter”
13. “Dreams of a Samurai”

The band will release a version of the album on 180g vinyl which will be foil stamped and limited to 5,000 copies worldwide. The packages, which are webstore exclusives, also includes “Dark Necessities” on cassette single and a 24″ x 24″ lithograph with extended artwork. Those who pre-order the album will receive a free download of “Dark Necessities”.[