Listen to Yo La Tengo Cover The Cure's "Friday I'm in Love"

Listen to Yo La Tengo Cover The Cure’s “Friday I’m in Love”

On June 2, 2015, Yo La Tengo announced Stuff Like That There an upcoming album (and “a sequel of sorts to Fakebook“) of re-recorded versions of some of their old songs as well as covers, including songs by The Cure, Hank Williams, and Sun Ra. The album is planned to be released August 28, 2015

 

 

Yo La Tengo (often abbreviated as YLT) is an American indie rock band formed in Hoboken, New Jersey, in 1984. Since 1992, the lineup has consisted of Ira Kaplan (guitars, piano, vocals), Georgia Hubley (drums, piano, vocals), and James McNew (bass, vocals).

Despite achieving limited mainstream success, Yo La Tengo has been called “the quintessential critics’ band” and maintains a strong cult following.

Though they mostly play original material, Yo La Tengo is renowned for its encyclopedic repertoire of cover songs both in live performance and on record.

 

Stuff Like That There Tracklisting:

A1: My Heart’s Not in It (Darlene McCrea)

A2: Rickety

A3: I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry (Hank Williams)

A4: All Your Secrets (remake of track from Popular Songs)

A5: The Ballad of Red Buckets (remake of track from Electr-o-pura)

A6: Friday I’m in Love (The Cure)

A7: Before We Stopped to Think  (Great Plains)

B1: Butchie’s Tune (The Lovin’ Spoonful)

B2: Automatic Doom (Special Pillow)

B3: Awhileaway

B4: I Can Feel the Ice Melting (The Parliaments)

B5: Naples (Antietam)

B6: Deeper Into Movies (remake of track from I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One)

B7: Somebody’s in Love (The Cosmic Rays with Le Sun Ra and Arkestra)

Yo La Tengo Tour Dates:

Friday, September 4 – Barcelona, Spain – Tibidabo Festival

Saturday, September 5 – San Sebastian, Spain – Kutxa Kultur Festibla

Wednesday, September 23 – Troy, NY – Troy Savings Bank Music Hall*

Thursday, September 24 – Glenside, PA – Keswick Theatre*

Friday, September 25 – Washington, DC – Lincoln Theatre*

Saturday, September 26 – Durham, NC – The Carolina Theatre of Durham*

Sunday, September 27 – Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse*

Tuesday, September 29 – Millvale, PA – Mr. Smalls Theatre*

Wednesday, September 30 – Toronto, ON – Queen Elizabeth*

Friday, October 2 – Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre*

Saturday, October 3 – Boston, MA – The Wilbur Theatre*

Saturday, October 10 – Brooklyn, NY – King’s Theatre* w/ Nick Lowe

Thursday, October 15 – Dublin, Ireland – National Concert Hall*

Friday, October 16 – Glasgow, Scotland – The Garage*

Sunday, October 18 – Bristol, UK – Colston Hall*

Monday, October 19 – Coventry, UK – Warwick Arts Center*

Tuesday, October 20 – London, UK – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire*

Friday, October 23 – Paris, France – La Cigale*

Saturday, October 24 – Holland, Amsterdam – Paradiso*

Sunday, October 25 – Leuven, Belgium – Het Depot*

Tuesday, October 27 – Berlin, Germany – Heimathafen*

Wednesday, October 28 – Koln, Germany – Kulturkirche*

Friday, October 30 – Bologna, Italy – Teatro Antoniano*

Saturday, October 31 – Rome, Italy – Auditorium Parco della Musica*

Thursday, November 5 – Chicago, IL – The Vic Theatre*

Friday, November 6 – Madison, WI – Barrymore Theatre*

Saturday, November 7 – Minneapolis, MN – Pantages Theatre*

Monday, November 9 – Boulder, CO – Boulder Theater*

Thursday, November 12 – San Diego, CA – San Diego Music Thing @ Observatory North Park*

Friday, November 13 – Los Angeles, CA – The Theatre at Ace Hotel*

Saturday, November 14 – San Francisco, CA – The Masonic*

Tuesday, November 17 – Eugene, OR – WOW Hall*

Wednesday, November 18 – Portland, OR – Revolution Hall*

Friday, November 20 – Seattle – Neptune Theatre*

Saturday, November 21 – Vancouver, BC – Vogue Theatre*

*denotes acoustic set-up