New Sexwitch Track "Ha Howa Ha Howa" (from Bat for Lashes)

New Sexwitch Track “Ha Howa Ha Howa” (from Bat for Lashes)

[via Pitchfork]

Bat for Lashes‘ Natasha Khan has a new project called Sexwitch. Today, after sharing “Helelyos” last month, Khan has released another new track from the forthcoming record. In keeping with the rest of the album, which comprises covers of international psych and folk songs from the 1970s, “Ha Howa Ha Howa” is based on a Moroccan track sung by Cheikha Hanna Ouakki. Listen to the Sexwitch version below.

Speaking about the song in our interview about Sexwitch, Khan said:

“Ha Howa Ha Howa”, the “he addicted me” song—the girl that originally sang that [Cheikha Hanna Ouakki] was really young, 15, 16. She traveled around these mountain villages and became this vagabond singer. She’s the one that sounded so street, so contemporary. I loved her spirit, I felt her freedom in the way she was singing it. So it’s really nice to shine a light on that time in those countries where there was liberation. They feel the same things we do, it’s just blanketed in our impression of oppressive regimes. I think deep down, we’re all from the same place. People now can enjoy this kind of music next to contemporary psychedelic music. I think it’s really important to feel free, and to be free to express everyone’s humanity, the things that link us, that we’re all just falling in love with people or running away.

Sexwitch comes out September 25. It’s a collaboration between Khan, producer Dan Carey, and Toy.



Sexwitch is a musical collaboration between Natasha Khan of Bat for Lashes and the English rock band Toy. Khan and Toy previously collaborated in 2013 to cover “The Bride”, a pre-revolution Iranian song.

Sexwitch’s self-titled debut album, due for release on 25 September, consists of six covers of 1970s psych and folk songs from Iran, Morocco, Thailand and the United States. According to Khan, she and producer Dan Carey bought several “old weird psych records from different countries, strange folk mountain songs”, and invited Toy to record covers of the songs. The band learned the songs and recorded the covers in a single take in one day.

On August 24, Sexwitch released a single, “Helelyos”, online; Rolling Stone described it as a “hyponotic, Middle Eastern-infused groove”.


Sexwitch track list

No. Title Length
1. “Ghoroobaa Ghashangan”
2. “Ha Howa Ha Howa”
3. “Helelyos”
4. “Kassidat El Hakka”
5. “War In Peace”
6. “Lam Plearn Kiew Bao”