Carter Tutti Void Announce New album, f (x)

Carter Tutti Void Announce New album, f (x)


The UK trio will deliver the follow-up to 2012’s Transverse in September.

Carter Tutti Void, the collaborative project of Throbbing Gristle’s Chris Carter and Cosey Fanni Tutti, and Factory Floor’s Nik Void, have announced details of their second album.

The six-track f (x) will be released on Carter and Fanni Tutti’s Industrial Records in September, and features more of the metallic guitar, heavy basslines, industrial rhythms and processed vocals that made up the trio’s first LP, 2012’s Transverse.

Despite f (x) being the trio’s second album, it’s their first studio album – Transverse was a live recording made at Mute’s Short Circuit festival at The Roundhouse in 2011.

The album is released on LP, CD and digital formats on September 11. In the meantime, you can check a trailer for f (x) below. [Article by FACTMAG]


01. f=(2.4)
02. f=(2.5)
03. f=(2.2)
04. f=(2.3)
05. f=(2.6)
06. f=(2.7)



Chris & Cosey, now performing as Carter Tutti, are a band formed in 1981, consisting of partners Chris Carter and Cosey Fanni Tutti, both previously members of industrial music pioneers Throbbing Gristle.

When Throbbing Gristle broke up in 1981,[5] Carter and Tutti signed with Rough Trade Records and began recording as Chris & Cosey.[6][7] They recorded four albums for the label using electronics, sampling, Cosey’s vocals and cornet playing.[8] In 1983, they formed their own independent record label Creative Technology Institute (aka CTI)[9] to release more experimental works and collaborations.[7] The first CTI projects, Elemental 7 and European Rendezvous, were released through Cabaret Voltaire‘s DoubleVision label.[10]

In the late 1980s and early 1990s, the duo worked with a number of independent labels such as Nettwerk (Canada), Play It Again Sam (Belgium), Staalplaat (Netherlands), and Wax Trax! (USA), and World Serpent Distribution (UK).[11] In 1992, for artistic and health reasons, the duo stopped touring and concentrated on studio work.[12] They returned to performing live in 1998, documented on the Union album.

Since the couple began collaborating, Carter and Tutti have worked with a variety of similarly respected and recognized avant-garde artists including, Monte Cazazza, Coil, Current 93, John Duncan, Erasure, Eurythmics, Boyd Rice, and Robert Wyatt. The 1988 album Core is a collection of these collaborations.[13]

Carter and Tutti’s tracks have been remixed by world renowned DJs including, Carl Craig, Cosmic Connection, Fred Giannelli, Daniel Miller, U -Ziq, Vapourspace[14] and Andrew Weatherall.[15]

Carter and Tutti have released two ongoing CD series of instrumental music: The Library Of Sound (L.O.S.) and Electronic Ambient Remixes (E.A.R.), currently with four volumes each. The E.A.R. series are remixes of material released solo by Carter or Tutti. Tracks from both these instrumental series have been used internationally in gallery installations, performed at numerous electronic music festivals, utilized on TV and radio broadcasts and within Hollywood movie trailers.[16]


To greet the 21st century, Chris & Cosey became Carter Tutti, celebrating the rebirth with a series of concerts which were documented on the live album LEM Festival October 2003. The rebirth was completed by the release of the studio album Cabal later that year. Both also appeared as guests on the 2006 Current 93 album Black Ships Ate the Sky.

Carter and Tutti re-engaged with Throbbing Gristle, which reformed with all four original members for a December 2004 All Tomorrow’s Parties festival appearance, and recorded several new studio albums over the following years – TG Now (2004) and Part Two (2007). They also performed a short series of concerts in Europe and the United States in 2009, with a rare tour-only release album, The Third Mind Movements. (Ostensibly, the few remaining copies were sold via mail-order through the Throbbing Gristle website[17]upon completion of the tour).

In October 2010 Throbbing Gristle began a European tour; however, several days following the band’s first tour date at the Hackney Dissenting Academy,[18] London, Throbbing Gristle’s website announced that Genesis P-Orridge was no longer willing to perform with the band, and would return to his home in New York. Chris, Cosey and Peter ‘Sleazy’ Christopherson finished the tour without P-Orridge, performing under the name X-TG.[19][20]

Carter and Tutti performed with Nik Colk Void of Factory Floor at Mute‘s Short Circuit Festival in May 2011. A live album of the show, with an additional studio track, was released as Transverse in 2012, under the name Carter Tutti Void.




  • Heartbeat (1981), Rough Trade
  • Trance (1982), Rough Trade
  • Songs of Love & Lust (1984), Rough Trade
  • Techno Primitiv (1985), Rough Trade
  • Allotropy (1987), Staalplaat
  • Sweet Surprise (1987), Dragon
  • Exotika (1987), Play It Again Sam
  • Trust (1989), Play It Again Sam
  • Pagan Tango (1991), Play It Again Sam/WaxTrax!
  • Musik Fantastique (1992), Play It Again Sam
  • Twist (1995), T&B Vinyl
  • Skimble Skamble (1997), World Serpent
  • Cabal (2004), CTI – Carter Tutti
  • Feral Vapours of the Silver Ether (2007), CTI – as Carter Tutti
Live albums
  • Action! (1987), LD
  • Union (1999), World Serpent
  • C&C Luchtbal (2003) CTI, live album
  • LEM Festival October 2003 (2004) GliptotekaMagdalae, as Carter Tutti
  • Transverse (2012), Mute, as Carter Tutti Void
as CTI
  • Elemental 7 (1984), DoubleVision
  • European Rendezvous – CTI Live 1983 (1984), DoubleVision
  • Core (1988), Nettwerk/Play It Again Sam
  • Metaphysical – “The library of sound” Edition One (1993), World Serpent
  • Chronomanic – “The library of sound” Edition Two (1994), World Serpent
  • In Continuum – “The library of sound” Edition Three (1995), World Serpent
  • Point Seven – “The library of sound” Edition Four (1998), World Serpent
  • Collectiv One: Conspiracy International (1989), Play It Again Sam
  • Collectiv Two: The Best of Chris and Cosey (1989), Play It Again Sam
  • Collectiv Three: An Elemental Rendevous [sic] (1990), Play It Again Sam
  • Collectiv Four: Archive Recordings (1990), Play It Again Sam
  • Reflection (1990), WaxTrax!
  • The Essential Chris & Cosey Collection (2002), World Serpent
  • Collected Works 1981 – 2000 (2006), Conspiracy International


  • Take Five (1986), Licensed
  • C + C Musik (1995), T&B Vinyl – promotional only


  • “Night Shift” (1982) – flexi-disc with Vinyl magazine, split with Minimal Compact
  • “This is Me” (1983), Music Time – split with Wahnfried-Brown
  • “October (Love Song)” (1983), Rough Trade
  • “Sweet Surprise” (1985), Rough Trade
  • “Obsession” (1987), Play It Again Sam
  • “Obsession (remix)” (1987), Nettwerk
  • “Exotika” (1988), Play It Again Sam
  • “Exotika (extended remix)” (1988), Nettwerk
  • “Rise” (1988), Play It Again Sam
  • “Synaesthesia” (1991), Play It Again Sam
  • “Passion” (1991), World Serpent
as Conspiracy International
  • “Hammer House” (1984), CTI
  • “Thy Gift of Tongues” (1985), CTI