Deerhoof Release A Pretty Strange New Video 'Exit Only'


Deerhoof Release A Pretty Strange New Video ‘Exit Only’
From Deerhoof’s full-length album, La Isla Bonita.

Deerhoof is a punk rock band whose erratic style veers between pop, noise, and classic rock and roll.[5]The band’s live shows are known for their minimal gear, maximal volume, and surrealist banter. Since their formation in 1994 in San Francisco they have self-produced their records and self-managed their career. The band’s current line-up consists of John Dieterich, Satomi Matsuzaki, Ed Rodriguez and Greg Saunier.


Deerhoof’s twelfth album, La Isla Bonita, was announced in August 2014. Release is scheduled for November 4, 2014 on Polyvinyl Records.The album was recorded live in guitarist Ed Rodriguez’s basement during a “weeklong sleepover arguing over whether to try and sound like Joan Jett or Janet Jackson”.

Since moving to different cities, the members of Deerhoof have become highly sought-after for their remixing, production, playing, and writing. They’ve done remixes for Maroon 5Sufjan Stevens, Starfucker, Delta 5, Asobi Seksu, Xiu Xiu, The Givers, Shugo Tokumaru,Shy Hunters, Royal Bangs, People Get Ready, Megaphonic Thrift, Raleigh Moncrieff, Emily Wells, Lucas Santtana, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, A.U., Parenthetical Girls, Mantra Percussion Ensemble, E.D. Sedgwick, Ed Pastorini, Woom, Sam Mickens, Baaba, In One Wind, Maribel, and others.

Saunier has produced or mixed albums by Xiu XiuMarc Ribot, So Cow, Busdriver, Celestial Shore, People Get Ready,Moon Honey, Maher Shalal Hash Baz, Hoquets, Sholi31 KnotsOneOne, Father Murphy, Hawnay Troof, EDS, 7 Year Rabbit Cycle, and Formica Man.

Dieterich has produced or mixed albums by Half Japanese,A Hawk And A Hacksaw, Sufjan Stevens, 7 Year Rabbit Cycle, Cüneyt Sepetçi, The Weird Weeds, Powerdove andXBXRX.

Saunier plays in many groups including Mystical Weapons (with Sean Lennon), Les Bon Hommes (featuring Saunier on guitar and vocals), Big Walnuts Yonder (with Mike Watt,Nels Cline and Nick Reinhart) and various free improvisation groups that have included Anthony Braxton, Arto Lindsay, Nels Cline, Doug Wieselman, Brian Chippendale, Andrea Parkins and many others. He has played on stage with artists such as Yoko Ono, Laurie Anderson, string quartet Brooklyn Rider, Jherek BischoffDavid Byrne, Zola Jesus, and Amanda Palmer, and on recordings with artists such as Caetano Veloso, Jon Brion, Lushlife and many others.

Dieterich has released albums with Mike Watt and Thollem McDonas. He has guested on albums by Xiu Xiu, Nels Cline, and Busdriver

In 2008 Matsuzaki formed OneOne with Saya of Japanese band Tenniscoats. She contributed lead vocal on The Go! Team’s “Secretary Song”.

Saunier’s compositions have been performed by Brooklyn Rider, Y Music, Ecstatic PercussionDaan Vandewalle, Ensemble Dal Niente, Spektral Quartet, and he has composed film soundtracks for Martha Colburn, Becky James, and worked on soundtrack to the Will Ferrell movie Step Brothers. He wrote a music review of The Rolling Stones for The Talkhouse in 2013.