Listen To The Full New Album From Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds "Skeleton Tree"

Listen To The Full New Album From Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds “Skeleton Tree”

Listen to the full album that everybody is talking about below!
Skeleton Tree is the sixteenth studio album by the Australian alternative rock band Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. It was released on 9 September 2016 on Bad Seed Ltd.

Skeleton Tree was recorded over several sessions from late 2014 to early 2016,[1] with Nick Cave and Warren Ellis self-producing the album;[2] Cave financed the recording sessions himself.[3] Initial recording began at Retreat Recording Studios in Brighton, England in late 2014, with Kevin Paul as main recording engineer.[2]During the end of the sessions, Cave’s 15-year-old son Arthur died after falling from the nearby Ovingdean Gap.[4] The album’s sessions resumed at La Frette Studios in La Frette-sur-Seine, France in autumn 2015, with Nick Launay engineering and co-producing the sessions. Final overdubs for Skeleton Tree were recorded at Air Studios in London, with engineers Kevin Paul and Jake Jackson, in early 2016,[2] where several performances were also shot for the related documentary film One More Time with Feeling

Skeleton Tree was released worldwide on 9 September 2016 on Bad Seed Ltd,[5] under licence from Kobalt Label Services.[2] It was issued on CD, LP and across all digital streaming and download platforms.[1]

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
Additional musicians
  • Else Torp – additional vocals (7)
  • Ellie Wyatt – violin
  • Charlotte Glason – viola
  • Joe Giddey – cello
Technical personnel
Technical personnel (continued)
  • Kevin Paul – recording, mixing
  • Jake Jackson – recording, mixing
  • Jim Sclavunos – mixing
  • Chris Blakey – assistant mixing
  • Nicolas Quéré – assistant mixing
  • Arnaud Bequet – assistant mixing
  • Jonathan Ratovoarisoa – assistant mixing
  • John Prestage – assistant mixing
  • John Davis – LP cutting
Design personnel
  • Hingston Studio – design, artwork
  • Alwin Küchler – photography

A week prior to Skeleton Trees release, the opening track from the album, “Jesus Alone”, was released. A music video directed by Andrew Dominik accompanied the release and featured black-and-white footage from One More Time with Feeling.[6] The film—featuring performances by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and “accompanied by Cave’s intermittent narration and improvised rumination”—is due to premiere in cinemas worldwide on 8 September, the day before Skeleton Trees official release

Nicholas EdwardNickCave (born 22 September 1957) is an Australian musician, songwriter, author, screenwriter, composer and occasional film actor. He is best known as the frontman of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, established in 1983, a group known for its diverse output and ever-evolving line-up. Prior to this, he fronted the Birthday Party, one of the most extreme and confrontational post-punk bands of the early 1980s.[1] In 2006, he formed the garage rock bandGrinderman, releasing its debut album the following year.

Referred to as rock music’s “Prince of Darkness“, Cave’s music is generally characterised by emotional intensity, a wide variety of influences, and lyrical obsessions with death, religion, love and violence.[3] NME described him as “the grand lord of gothic lushness”.[4]

Cave has also worked as a composer for films, often in collaboration with fellow Australian musician Warren Ellis. Their films together include The Proposition(2005, based on a screenplay by Cave), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2007), The Road (2009) and Lawless (2012). Cave is the subject and co-writer of the semi-fictional “day in the life” documentary 20,000 Days on Earth (2014).

Upon Cave’s induction into the ARIA Hall of Fame, ARIA Awards committee chairman Ed St John said: “Nick Cave has enjoyed—and continues to enjoy—one of the most extraordinary careers in the annals of popular music. He is an Australian artist like Sidney Nolan is an Australian artist—beyond comparison, beyond genre, beyond dispute.”